Free Cake For Every Creature

  • Free Cake For Every Creature

    Free Cake For Every Creature is a pop band currently based in Philadelphia. Beginning as the secret home-recording project of songwriter and multi-instrumentalist Katie Bennett, the band has since expanded to include a rotating cast of colorful friends and musicians. Inspired by the DIY ethos of bands like Beat Happening and Rose Melberg, Katie & the cakes have self-booked numerous tours across America, taking pictures and posting online journal entries of their explorations along the way.

    In April 2016 the band released their first record, “Talking Quietly of Anything With You,” on Double Double Whammy. Colin Joyce at Pitchfork praised the title track, saying it “represents Bennett as a singular songwriter, one who’s able to transmute her influences—K Records’ ramshackle charm, Yo La Tengo’s slower, stiller moments—into pithy, affecting turns of phrase.” Rob Sheffield at Rolling Stone listed the album in his top 20 albums of 2016. “Talking Quietly of Anything With You” navigates the surrealism of young adult life with a sonic range from warm, contemplative passages, to exuberant indie rock hooks.


    Tour Dates


    Free Cake For Every Creature Stream New Album on Stereogum

    Free Cake For Every Creature shared the full album stream for their studio debut, Talking Quietly Of Anything With You this week on Stereogum! We here at DDW have had the pleasure of working with Free Cake on a total of three releases now and we couldn't be more stoked for them. The album is available for pre-order now and will release this Friday, April 15th! Check it out!

    Free Cake have also announced a string of Spring tour dates that include two record release shows, one in Philadelphia and one in Brooklyn. Details can be found on the band's Facebook page.

    Free Cake For Every Creature share new music video on MTV

    Free Cake For Every Creature shared a brand new song and music video with MTV last week, another highlight from their sophomore full length, Talking Quietly Of Anything With You. The video was shot and directed by Craig Scheihing and features singer/songwriter Katie Bennett, who spoke with MTV about the new song. The new LP from 'Free Cake' is available for pre-order now, and will be out April 15th.

    Free Cake For Every Creature Shares 'First Summer In A City' From New LP

    Free Cake For Every Creature are sharing another brand new track today from their fantastic sophomore full length release 'Talking Quietly Of Anything With You'. We are so stoked and you can check it out now over at The FADER!

    "I wrote 'First Summer In A City' last May in one shot, without much effort or thought," Katie Bennett told The FADER in an email. "It was so sunny and beautiful outside, and the door was open. I had nothing to do but just enjoy the weather and the people coming in and out, and also anticipate having some friends over that evening for a barbecue. The song is an attempt to hold onto some of my optimism and excitement, so I could remember those feelings when I needed them."

    'Talking Quietly Of Anything With You' is coming April 15th on LP/MP3 via DDW. Pre-order a copy now in our store, and catch Free Cake at one of their release shows in Brooklyn and Philadelphia!

    Free Cake For Every Creature Shares New Song on NPR

    Today Free Cake For Every Creature are sharing their brand new song "For You" via NPR Music. We've had the pleasure of working with Free Cake from virtually the beginning of their career as a band, (save an early tape release on birdtapes), and we could not be more excited to share their first studio full-length, Talking Quietly of Anything With You, out April 15, 2016 on Double Double Whammy. You can pre-order the new album on LP/MP3 formats in our store now.


    1. Talking Quiety Of Anything With You
    2. All You Gotta Be When You're 23 Is Yourself
    3. Chubby Cows
    4. I Wanna Make You Bread
    5. First Summer In A City
    6. Susie (Now I'm Cryin')
    7. For You
    8. So Much Strange To Give
    9. First Storm Of The Summer
    10. Still Movin'

    Free Cake For Every Creature "For You" (Official Music Video)