New Stuff

View All


View All
Eskimeaux Shares New Mini Album "Year Of The Rabbit" on MTV

Yesterday, Eskimeaux shared the album stream for Year of the Rabbit, their highly anticipated new mini-album. Year of the Rabbit finds the band replacing the highly produced and overdubbed sound of 2015's critically acclaimed O.K. with a more immediate, naturally produced sound, showcasing the sound of Eskimeaux's live band. MTV, who premiered the album stream today are calling it "near-perfect pop" and saying "Year Of The Rabbit balances isolation and connection, love and loss, light and dark - and the beauty of finding everything that lies in between."

Year of the Rabbit is available for pre-order now and is out this Friday, April 15th! Check it out folks!!

Eskimeaux are currently on a full US tour with Frankie Cosmos and Yowler. All dates can be found on the band's website!

Free Cake For Every Creature Stream New Album on Stereogum

Free Cake For Every Creature shared the full album stream for their studio debut, Talking Quietly Of Anything With You this week on Stereogum! We here at DDW have had the pleasure of working with Free Cake on a total of three releases now and we couldn't be more stoked for them. The album is available for pre-order now and will release this Friday, April 15th! Check it out!

Free Cake have also announced a string of Spring tour dates that include two record release shows, one in Philadelphia and one in Brooklyn. Details can be found on the band's Facebook page.

Eskimeaux Release "Drunk" Music Video / Touring With Frankie Cosmos & Yowler

Last week Eskimeaux released a music video for "Drunk", the latest single from their new mini-album, Year of the Rabbit. Singer/Songwriter Gabrielle Smith spoke to Nylon about the new song & video.

“I wrote ‘Drunk’ during a song-a-day project I did last spring. As my life becomes more and more busy with touring and the endless complexities of being a self-employed artist, small moments of domesticity like being a little bit drunk walking around with my partner become welcome breaks from my usual life,” said Smith. “I think this whole album, Year of the Rabbit, is about claiming some control over my life in a time when things are very chaotic, and about finding strength in the quiet moments when art is made.”

Year of the Rabbit is the follow up to Eskimeaux's 2015 critically acclaimed debut album, O.K. The mini-album is available for pre-order now and out April 15th.

Watch the new video:

Eskimeaux on Tour:

  • 4/2 - Brooklyn, NY @ Shea Stadium *#
  • 4/3 - Washington, DC @ DC9 *#
  • 4/4 - Richmond, VA @ Strange Matter *#
  • 4/5 - Chapel Hill, NC @ Kings *#
  • 4/6 - Atlanta, GA @ The Masquerade (Purgatory) *#
  • 4/7 - Birmingham, AL @ Syndicate Lounge *#
  • 4/8 - New Orleans, LA @ Siberia *#
  • 4/9 - Dallas, TX @ Club Dada*#
  • 4/10 - Austin, TX @ Sidewinder *#
  • 4/12 - Santa Fe, NM @ Meow Wolf *#
  • 4/13 - Phoenix, AZ @ The Rebel Lounge *#
  • 4/14 - Los Angeles, CA @ The Echo * ^#
  • 4/15 - San Diego, CA @ Che Café * ^#
  • 4/16 - San Francisco, CA @ Swedish American Hall * ^#
  • 4/18 - Portland, OR @ Analog Theater * ^
  • 4/20 - Seattle, WA @ Vera Project * ^
  • 4/22 - Salt Lake City, UT @ Diabolical Records * ^
  • 4/23 - Denver, CO @ Lost Lake * ^
  • 4/25 - Minneapolis, MN @ 7th St Entry * ^
  • 4/26 - Madison, WI @ High Noon * ^
  • 4/27 - Chicago, IL @ Lincoln Hall * ^
  • 4/28 - Cleveland, OH @ Mahall's * ^
  • 4/29 - Pittsburgh, PA @ Mr. Roboto Project * ^
  • 4/30 - Philadelphia, PA @ First Unitarian Church * ^
  • 5/1 - Brooklyn, NY @ Market Hotel * ^
  • 5/6 - Kingston, NY @ BSP Lounge w/ Mac McCaughan & the Non-believers
  • 5/12 - Somerville, MA @ ONCE Ballroom w/ Free Cake For Every Creature, Lady Pills, Claire Cottrill
  • 5/13 - Providence, RI @ Aurora w/ Free Cake For Every Creature, Ian Faria

* with Frankie Cosmos // ^ with Yowler // # with Anna McClellan

Free Cake For Every Creature share new music video on MTV

Free Cake For Every Creature shared a brand new song and music video with MTV last week, another highlight from their sophomore full length, Talking Quietly Of Anything With You. The video was shot and directed by Craig Scheihing and features singer/songwriter Katie Bennett, who spoke with MTV about the new song. The new LP from 'Free Cake' is available for pre-order now, and will be out April 15th.